HomeServicesSenior MomentsDining CalendarActivitiesSpecial EventsVolunteersNewsletterCouncil & StaffLinksContact Us

March Volunteer of the Month
Peggy Toepke

Peggy Toepke has been volunteering at the Bismarck Senior Center off and on since 1981. In past years, she has assisted at the reservation desk and with the telephones. She currently assists with organizing bridge and pinochle. She has even taught bridge and pinochle classes for beginners! Her dedication, concern and patience for others at the Senior Center are greatly appreciated. 

Thank you Peggy for all you do!




























Volunteers Make It Happen!
The key to our success rests in our volunteers,
who embody the spirit of greatness by saying,
"Yes I can, and so can you!"
Thank you so much for your hard work.
We never could have asked for more dedicated volunteers,
and we cannot express how grateful we are to have you here!!!






The Bismarck Senior Center has a variety of volunteer opportunities available.  These opportunities include:

·         Reservation Desk
·         Office Phone
·         Coffee Bar
·         Coffee Servers
·         Home Delivered Meal Assembly
·         Site Manager Assistant Desk
·         Dish Crew
·         Gift Shop
·         Home Delivered Meal Drivers
·         Arts & Crafts
·         Quilting
·         Ceramics  


All volunteers are coordinated through RSVP+ Central ND.  RSVP+ Central ND is made up of volunteers serving seven North Dakota counties: Burleigh, Morton, Mercer, Grant, Emmons, Oliver, and Sioux. Over 1,100 volunteers give their time at nearly 200 host station locations. For more information, please contact RSVP+ Central ND at 701.258.5449, or the Bismarck Senior Center at 701.255.4648, or visit


This distinguished service award is presented annually for outstanding support and volunteerism at the Bismarck Senior Center.

Recipients of the “Ma” Werner Distinguished Service Award:

2013: Della Koski

2012:  Peggy Holsti

2011: Ed Simek

2010: Martha Mayer

2009: Juel & Florence Skytland

2008: Delores Jacober


2007: Katherine Heinert


2006: Eldon Herman


2005: Leo Roehrich


2004: Catherine Schwahn


2003: Arlene Bahmiller


2002: Margaret Botnen


2001: Lydia Dieber

2000: Philipina Hagel


1999: Mildred Schell


1998: Evelyn Larson


1997: Minnie Stein


1996: Mary Ehrmantraut


1995: Irma L. Johnson


1994: Elizabeth M. Graves


1993: Vera Jorgenson


1992: Margaret Baumgartner


1991: John Wyciskala


1990: Grace M. Lobach